News

Back to list

December 23, 2012

In Memoriam – The Honourable Senator Laurier LaPierre, B.A., M.A., Ph.D., Officer of the Order of Canada

Encounters with Canada has lost a great and dear friend, supporter and contributor. It was with deep regret that we learned of his recent passing in December 2012 in Ottawa. This man of great achievements befriended our program, and was never happier than surrounded by our young participants. For eleven years, Encounters was so very fortunate to have this extremely talented and distinguished Canadian actively involved in our program, as a popular speaker and leader of our youth engagement module.

But his involvement did not stop there. In the final years of his life, he permitted us to establish a scholarship fund in his name to help defray the registration fees of students in need, so that they, too, might attend the Encounters’ program.

And as his lasting legacy, we are so honoured that his last wish was that in lieu of flowers, individuals consider a donation to The Laurier LaPierre Scholarship Fund, to continue his good work in assisting young Canadians to attend the Encounters with Canada program.

If you would like to make a donation to Encounters with Canada, a program of The Historica Canada, you may do so online at: https://www.canadahelps.org/dn/13983 - under the Fund/Designation dropdown menu, option #3 – Encounters with Canada.

Or by mail, please make your donation payable to:

Encounters with Canada
In memory of Laurier LaPierre
1805 Gaspé Avenue,
Ottawa, ON K1K 0A4

All donations over $10 will receive a charitable tax receipt.

Thank you - and as Laurier loved to say: Vive le Canada!

Nouvelles

Retour à la liste

23 Décembre 2012

In Memoriam – L’honorable sénateur Laurier LaPierre, B.A., M.A., Ph.D., Officier de l’Ordre du Canada

C’est avec douleur et chagrin que Rencontres du Canada a appris le décès, en décembre 2012, d’un très grand ami, supporteur et collaborateur d’Ottawa. Homme de grandes réalisations, il s’était pris d’amitié envers notre programme et se voyait très heureux d’être entouré par nos jeunes participants. Pendant 11 années, Rencontres s’est estimé extrêmement chanceux d’avoir pu côtoyer ce Canadien d’exception et de grande distinction, lequel participait activement à notre programme en tant que conférencier bien aimé et leader de notre module d’engagement des jeunes.

Mais là ne s’arrêtait pas son implication. Au cours des dernières années de sa vie, il nous a permis de mettre sur pieds, en son nom, un Fonds de bourses d’études pour aider à couvrir les frais d’inscription des élèves dans le besoin, afin qu’eux aussi puissent prendre part au programme de Rencontres.

Nous sommes très touchés et honorés que son dernier souhait fut qu’en dépit d’offrir des fleurs, les gens considèrent faire un don au Fonds de bourses d’études Laurier LaPierre afin de poursuivre le travail entamé et d’en assurer l’héritage durable en aidant les jeunes Canadiens à participer au programme Rencontres du Canada.

Si vous souhaitez souscrire un don à Rencontres du Canada, un programme de l’Historica Canada, vous pouvez le faire en ligne à : https://www.canadahelps.org/dn/13983 – sous Affectation des fonds dans le menu déroulant, sélectionnez l’option 3 – Rencontres du Canada.

Ou encore, envoyez votre don à :

Rencontres du Canada
À la mémoire de Laurier LaPierre
1805, Avenue Gaspé
Ottawa, ON K1K 0A4

Les dons de plus de 10 $ recevront un reçu d’impôt pour activités de bienfaisance.

Nos sincères remerciements et, comme Laurier se plaisait à dire souvent : Vive le Canada!