News

Back to list

July 16, 2014

Name EWC's Mascot Contest

Hey everyone – Encounters with Canada (EWC) has a contest for you! Canada's largest youth forum needs your help in naming its new mascot, a little ball of white and black fuzz – a miniature Harlequin poodle. She is now 10 weeks old and weighs two pounds. She will eventually grow to be between 4 ½ to 6 lbs.

"I am delighted to invite youth from across Canada to submit their name suggestions for our new mascot," said Director General Linda Brunet. “It is the first time we have run a contest like this. Since the passing of Lola a few weeks ago at the ripe old age of 13, the Centre seems empty without the pitter-patter of her little feet. This new puppy is so cute, and she will help fill the hole in my heart and that of so many others, who sorely miss little Lola. We are looking forward to everyone putting their best creative talents towards choosing a name for our new mascot!"

To qualify, entries must meet the following criteria:

  • names must be 2 syllables;
  • entries must include the entrant's name, age, address and telephone number, as well as the suggested name for the puppy;
  • entrants must be 14 years of age or older;
  • a maximum of two entries per person are allowed;
  • online entries must be received no later than July 18, 2014.
  • entries must include the entrant's name, age, address and telephone number, as well as the suggested name for the puppy;

In the event of duplicate winning entries, the first entry received will be accepted.

The winning name will be chosen by the Director General and EWC staff. The contest winner will be announced in August, and his/her name, along with the puppy’s name will be posted on the EWC website. The winner will receive a number of great EWC prizes, such as a framed picture of the puppy, a t-shirt, pins and much more.

Canadian teens are encouraged to submit their entries on EWC’s Facebook page, or by email.

If you prefer, send your entry by mail, but ensure it is postmarked no later than July 18:

Send it to:
Encounters with Canada
c/o EWC Name EWC's Mascot Contest
1805 Gaspé Ave. Ottawa ON K1K 0A4

Nouvelles

Retour à la liste

16 Juillet 2014

Concours « Nommez la mascotte RDC »

Hé, tout le monde! Rencontres du Canada (RDC) propose un concours spécialement pour vous! Le plus grand forum jeunesse au Canada vous demande de l'aider à nommer sa nouvelle mascotte – un caniche arlequin miniature, une minuscule boule de poils noirs et blancs. La petite est âgée à l'heure actuelle de 10 semaines et pèse deux livres. Elle pèsera entre 4 ½ et 6 livres à l’âge adulte.

« C’est avec grand plaisir que j’invite les jeunes du Canada à proposer des noms pour notre nouvelle mascotte», affirme la directrice générale, Linda Brunet. « Il s’agit de la première fois que nous tenons un tel concours. Depuis que notre petite Lola nous a quittés à l’âge vénérable de 13 ans, il y a de cela quelques semaines, le Centre semble vide sans le cliquetis de ses griffes sur le carrelage. Cette nouvelle petite femelle est si mignonne; elle m’aidera à combler le vide dans mon cœur et dans celui de tant d'autres, à qui Lola manque cruellement. Nous nous réjouissons à l’idée de voir tout le talent créatif des participants pour le choix du nom de notre nouvelle mascotte! »

Pour être acceptées, les propositions doivent respecter les critères suivants :

  • Les noms ne doivent pas compter plus de deux syllabes;
  • Les propositions doivent inclure le nom, l'âge, l'adresse et le numéro de téléphone du participant, ainsi que le nom proposé;
  • Les participants doivent être âgés de 14 ans et plus;
  • Un maximum de deux propositions par participant sera accepté.
  • Les propositions en ligne doivent être reçues au plus tard le 18 juillet 2014.

Si le nom gagnant est proposé plusieurs fois, seule la première proposition reçue sera acceptée.

Le nom retenu sera choisi par la directrice générale et le personnel de RDC. Le nom du gagnant ou de la gagnante du concours, ainsi que le nom de la mascotte seront annoncés en août et seront publiés sur le site Web de RDC. Le gagnant ou la gagnante recevra plusieurs beaux prix, notamment une photographie encadrée du chiot, un t-shirt, des épinglettes et bien plus!

Les adolescents canadiens sont invités à proposer un nom sur la page Facebook de RDC ou par courriel.

Si vous préférez, vous pouvez envoyer votre proposition par la poste au plus tard le 18 juillet, le cachet de la poste faisant foi, à l'adresse suivante :

Rencontres du Canada
a/s du concours Nommez la mascotte RDC
1805, av. Gaspé, Ottawa ON K1K 0A4