News

Back to list

April 15, 2015

Encounters with Canada celebrates its 100,000th participant!

On April 9, 2015 – Vimy Day – Encounters with Canada proudly celebrated its 100,000th participant - Alexandra Macdonald from Salt Spring Island, BC. and, as with all important milestones, Encounters celebrated this historic one with a bang!

Many distinguished guests were in attendance at the celebrations, including Historica Canada (HC) President Anthony Wilson-Smith, HC board member and Chair Emeritus Avie Bennett, Member of Parliament for Ottawa-Vanier (EWC’s constituency) Mauril Bélanger, and Vimy Foundation President David Houghton and Executive Director Jeremy Diamond. Warming up the crowd with his charismatic presence and great eloquence, retired Senior Citizenship Judge George Springate was the Master of Ceremonies. He was accompanied by RCMP Sgt. (ret’d) Michel Pelletier in his red serge, which added a certain festive panache to mark the occasion.

A beaming Director General Linda Brunet greeted participants and guests, and set the stage for this important event, by introducing Mr. Avie Bennett to the audience: “It is most fitting to have Mr. Bennett here with us today. For those of you who don’t know, when Encounters with Canada opened in 1982, it was originally a program of the Canadian Unity Council. When the Council closed in 2006, Encounters’ very existence was threatened. Fortunately, the Historica Foundation, an organization which is devoted to enhancing awareness of Canadian history and citizenship, and of which Mr. Bennett is a board member, agreed to purchase EWC and add it to its roster of quality programs. Indeed, it was the intersession of Mr. Bennett on our behalf that was critical to the Encounters’ program being purchased by The Historica Foundation of Canada,” she added with much pride in her voice. “It was due to his strong support and efforts that Encounters with Canada continues to grow and flourish to this day.”

EWC’s 100,000thparticipant received a very special gift to mark the occasion - an iPad Air 2 in a specially embossed case with EWC’s logo and a keyboard enclosed. Not to be outdone, all participants and guests received a portable Bluetooth speaker to use with their cell phones, iPods, and other devices. The event closed with the official cake-cutting to mark this important organizational milestone.

It was a very joyous occasion for all – most particularly for the Vimy participants, a theme week organized in conjunction with The Vimy Foundation. From April 5 to 11, 2015, 117 young Canadians, aged 14 to 17, from every corner of the country, travelled to Ottawa to recognize this great achievement in Canadian history and to learn more about the significance of the Battle of Vimy Ridge to our Canadian identity.

And now, with the support of its dear partners, sponsors, volunteers and friends, Encounters with Canada is looking to the future with great enthusiasm, ready to greet its next 100,000 participants!

https://youtu.be/5cloBqnm3Q4

Nouvelles

Retour à la liste

15 Avril 2015

Rencontres du Canada célèbre son 100 000e participant!

Rencontres du Canada a fièrement célébré son 100 000e participant le 9 avril 2015, lors du Jour de la bataille de Vimy. L’heureuse élue est Alexandra Macdonald de Salt Spring Island, en Colombie-Britannique. Fidèle à son habitude lorsqu’il s’agit d’événements importants, Rencontres du Canada a célébré ce jalon historique avec panache!

De nombreux invités de marque étaient présents pour assister aux célébrations, dont M. Anthony Wilson-Smith, président d’Historica Canada (HC), M. Avie Bennett, chancelier émérite et membre du conseil de direction d’HC, M. Mauril Bélanger, député d’Ottawa-Vanier (la circonscription de RDC), M. David Houghton, président de La Fondation Vimy et son directeur général, M. Jeremy Diamond. Le maître de cérémonie n’était nul autre que le juge principal de la citoyenneté à la retraite, M. George Springate, qui a su, avec son charisme et son éloquence manifeste, capter l’attention de la foule. Sur scène, M. Michel Pelletier, Sergent de la GRC à la retraite, vêtu de l’incontournable tunique rouge, ajoutait une touche flamboyante aux festivités.

C’est une directrice générale resplendissante qui a accueilli les participants et les invités, mettant la table pour cet important événement, en présentant M. Avie Bennett à l’assistance : « Il est très à propos de compter M. Bennett parmi nous aujourd’hui. Certains d’entre vous l’ignorent peut-être, mais à ses débuts, en 1982, Rencontres du Canada était un programme du Conseil de l’unité canadienne. En 2006, lorsque le Conseil a cessé ses opérations, l’existence même de Rencontres s’est vue menacée. Heureusement, la Fondation Historica, un organisme dédié à sensibiliser la population à l'histoire et à la citoyenneté canadiennes, et dont M. Bennett est membre du conseil de direction, a accepté d’acquérir RDC, l’ajoutant ainsi à sa brochette de programmes de qualité. En effet, l’intervention de M. Bennett en faveur de Rencontres joua un rôle critique dans l’achat du programme par la Fondation Historica du Canada », ajouta-t-elle avec une pointe de fierté dans la voix. C’est grâce à son soutien inébranlable et à ses efforts soutenus que Rencontres du Canada continue de croître et de s’épanouir encore aujourd’hui. »

Pour l’occasion, la 100 000e participante de RDC s’est vue remettre un cadeau très spécial : un iPad Air 2, inséré dans un joli étui protecteur embossé du logo de RDC muni d’un clavier. Loin d’être laissés pour compte, les participants les invités ont pour leur part tous reçu un haut-parleur Bluetooth portable compatible avec les téléphones intelligents, iPods et autres appareils portables. Pour marquer cet important jalon organisationnel, l’événement s’est terminé par la coupe officielle d’un délicieux gâteau.

Cette journée fut appréciée de tous, particulièrement des participants de la semaine Vimy, une semaine thématique organisée en collaboration avec La Fondation Vimy. Ainsi, du 5 au 11 avril 2015, 117 jeunes Canadiens sont venus des quatre coins du pays pour marquer ce jalon dans l’histoire canadienne et pour en apprendre davantage sur la bataille de la crête de Vimy et sa signification envers notre identité canadienne.

Et maintenant, fort du soutien de ses chers partenaires, donateurs, bénévoles et amis, Rencontres du Canada se tourne vers l’avenir avec enthousiasme, prêt à accueillir ses prochains 100 000 participants!

https://youtu.be/5cloBqnm3Q4