News

Back to list

April 20, 2015

Vimy: Canada’s Coming of Age - A week to remember!

From April 5 to 11, 2015, 117 young Canadians, aged 14 to 17, from every corner of the country, travelled to Ottawa to recognize this great achievement in Canadian history – the Battle Battle of Vimy Ridge, and to learn more about its significant role in the formation of our Canadian identity. Since 2010, the theme week, Vimy: Canada's Coming of Age, has been offered in conjunction with The Vimy Foundation. And it still continues to resonate with today’s youth, just as it did then.

Participants enjoyed a jam-packed week, including a VIP tour of Parliament Hill, research on WWI soldiers at the Library and Archives of Canada, the creation of a Vimy mural, and so much more. They were also invited to take part in the national commemorative ceremony on Vimy Ridge Day, April 9, at the National War Memorial. And as happens every year, Encounters with Canada participants had the honour of representing the youth of our nation. Two of our participants read the Commitment to Remember in both official languages, a very touching and inspirational moment for all present.

April 9, 2015, the 98th anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge, also coincided with the launch of the 2015 National Sentry Program, as the first sentries were posted at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier in front of the National War Memorial. This took on an added significance this year, given the events of last October 22nd. Indeed, these two events demonstrate our national commitment to remember and honour all who have served Canada, and have contributed to Canada’s long-standing tradition of military excellence through to the present day.

Offered for the fifth consecutive year, Vimy week has also taken on even more significance in the history and lore of the Encounters with Canada program, with the celebration of its 100,000th participant, Alexandra Macdonald, from Salt Spring Island, BC. Furthermore, Vimy week participants were eligible to win the Beaverbrook Vimy Prize – a two-week, all expenses paid scholarship program in Europe to study the First and Second World Wars! The winner this year was Josanna Hickey from Bathurst, NB.

In short, this extraordinary week gave our participants the opportunity to be part of a momentous occasion, to honour Canada’s military history, to forge friendships with youth from across the country, and to bring home memories of a lifetime.

Nouvelles

Retour à la liste

20 Avril 2015

Vimy : passage pour l’autonomie du Canada – une semaine hors de l’ordinaire!

Du 5 au 11 avril 2015, 117 jeunes âgés de 14 à 17 ans provenant de tous les coins du Canada se sont rendus à Ottawa pour approfondir leurs connaissances lors d’une semaine portant sur la victoire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy. Depuis 2010, la semaine thématique Vimy : Passage pour l’autonomie du Canada est offerte en collaboration avec La Fondation Vimy. Lancée pour renseigner les jeunes sur l’importance de transmettre le flambeau du Souvenir, cette semaine demeure toujours aussi courue qu’à ses premiers instants.

Les participants ont pu profiter d’une semaine remplie d’activités, telles qu’une visite privilégiée du Parlement, la création d’une murale Vimy, des recherches sur des soldats de la Première Guerre mondiale à Bibliothèque et archives Canada et bien plus. Tous ont pris part avec émotion à une cérémonie commémorative nationale le 9 avril, soit lors du Jour de la bataille de Vimy, au Monument commémoratif de guerre, à Ottawa. Comme chaque année, les participants de Rencontres du Canada avaient l’honneur de représenter la jeunesse canadienne. Deux participants ont lu L’Engagement du Souvenir dans les deux langues officielles, un moment particulièrement émouvant pour toutes les personnes présentes.

Ce 9 avril 2015 a été placé sous le signe de la commémoration avec le lancement de la saison 2015 du programme national des sentinelles et l’anniversaire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy. La mise en place des premières sentinelles à la Tombe du Soldat inconnu a apporté une touche d’importance supplémentaire, compte tenu des tristes événements du 22 octobre dernier. Combinés, ces deux évènements ont démontré notre engagement national à se souvenir et tous ceux ayant servi de Canada et contribué à la tradition d’excellence militaire de longue date du Canada jusqu’à présent.

Offerte pour la 5eannée consécutive, cette semaine honorant la mémoire des soldats ayant combattu sur la crête de Vimy il y a de cela 98 ans s’inscrit désormais également dans l’histoire organisationnelle de RDC. C’est en effet le 9 avril 2015 que Rencontres accueillait son 100 000e participant en la personne d’Alexandra Macdonald, de Salt Spring Island, en Colombie-Britannique. Qui plus est, les participants de la semaine Vimy étaient admissibles au Prix Vimy Beaverbrook – un voyage tous frais payés d’une durée de deux semaines en Europe pour y étudier la Première et la Seconde guerre mondiale! L’heureuse gagnante de cette dixième édition du Prix Vimy Beaverbrook est Josanna Hickey, de Bathurst, N.-B.

Bref, cette semaine hors de l’ordinaire a permis à nos participants de vivre un jalon historique important, d’honorer la mémoire militaire du Canada, de forger des amitiés avec des jeunes provenant de partout au pays et de repartir avec des souvenirs pour la vie.