News

Back to list

April 17, 2018

VIDEO: Students Remember Vimy at Encounters with Canada

It was the start of a very special week of history and remembrance. Dressed in their bright red sweaters, 127 students from every province and territory headed to Ottawa’s War Memorial for a ceremony commemorating the 101th anniversary of the Battle of Vimy. For these young Canadians, aged 14 to 17, this week was one they will never forget. Organized by Encounters with Canada, in partnership with the Vimy Foundation, the theme was Vimy: Canada’s Coming of Age.

Until now, I’ve never been off of Baffin Island. This was an opportunity to learn more about Canadian history and meet new friends. This experience has really touched my heart.
- Neevee Naki Kilabuk, Iqaluit, Nunavut

On April 9, 1917, Canadian soldiers took the famous ridge in Northern France, concluding a long and bloody chapter of the First World War. It was also an important period in history, which saw Canada forge its identity – a time to remember for all Canadians.

During their week in Ottawa, Encounters’ students visited the War Museum, explored war-time archives, met with war veterans, and toured Parliament and historical landmarks. They learned about the roles of women and indigenous people during the war, discovered the living conditions of soldiers not much older than themselves at the time, and witnessed the essential role Canada has played in building peace throughout the 20th century.

I think they’re going to understand their country a little bit more. This is a diverse but unified country, and a common purpose that we all have is peace. With this week about the Battle of Vimy, focusing on war, the goal is peace in the end. And Canada, as a peacekeeping nation, set itself apart. I think students will see that.
- Edgar Veldman, Teacher-monitor, Terrace, BC

Vimy participants also engaged in art workshops around the themes of war, peace and remembrance. And they were able to voice their own perspectives and feelings through such media as stop-motion animation, felt work and slam poetry.

What’s one of the most famous poems of all time? In Flanders Fields. To me, poetry fits perfectly into the theme of this week because the students are speaking with veterans, going to museums. They’re taking in a lot of very, very powerful and emotional stimuli; and poetry is perfect for taking time to reflect.
- Nathanael Larochette, slam artist and workshop leader, Ottawa, ON

Another exciting opportunity was to spend an afternoon with World War II veteran Peter Craske, Korean War veteran Walter Conrad, and Cold War and peacekeeping Indigenous veteran Bob Crane, as well as active members of the Forces Lt.-Col. Telah Morrison, Major Jean-Marc Mercier and Lt. Nathalie Pagé. Discussions ranged from personal experiences, the role of the military throughout Canadian history, and how Canadians are still very much respected in Europe, because of their role in both World Wars:

The kids still put flowers on the graves of Canadian soldiers, and at Christmas they put candles on every grave. One of the most moving moments of my life was when I went to Holland a few years ago. A woman brought up a little boy to me, and asked me to shake his hand. And she said “I want my son to die knowing he shook the hand of one of the people who liberated us.”
- WWII veteran Peter Craske

Find out more about EWC's VIMY: Canada's coming of age and other theme weeks.

https://youtu.be/fM7rHZBNZ9M

Nouvelles

Retour à la liste

17 avril 2018

Des étudiants commémorent Vimy à Rencontres du Canada

C’était le début d’une semaine très spéciale d’histoire et de commémoration. Vêtus de chandails rouge-vif, 127 étudiants de tout le pays se dirigeaient vers le Monument commémoratif de guerre d’Ottawa pour une cérémonie soulignant le 101e anniversaire de la Bataille de Vimy. Pour ces jeunes Canadiens âgés de 14 à 17 ans, ce sera une semaine mémorable. Organisée par Rencontres du Canada en partenariat avec la Fondation Vimy, son thème était Vimy : passage vers l’autonomie du Canada.

Jusqu’à maintenant, je n’étais jamais sortie de l’Ile de Baffin. Cette semaine était une occasion de découvrir l’histoire du Canada et de rencontrer de nouveaux amis. Cette expérience a vraiment touché mon cœur.
- Neevee Naki Kilabuk, Iqaluit, Nunavut

Le 9 avril 1917, les soldats Canadiens prenaient la célèbre Crête de Vimy dans le Nord de la France, mettant fin à un long et sanglant épisode de la Première Guerre Mondiale. Ce fut également une importante période de l’histoire canadienne qui a vu le pays forger son identité – une période marquante pour tous les Canadiens.

Pendant leur semaine à Ottawa, les étudiants de Rencontres du Canada ont visité le Musée de la Guerre, exploré des archives datant de l’époque de la guerre, rencontré des anciens combattants et visité le Parlement et d’autres lieux historiques. Ils ont appris quel était le rôle des femmes et des autochtones pendant la guerre, découvert les conditions de vie de soldats à peine plus âgés qu’eux-mêmes dans les tranchées et le rôle essentiel joué par le Canada dans le maintien de la paix au long du 20e siècle.

Je crois qu’ils vont comprendre leur pays un peu mieux. Le Canada est un pays d’une grande diversité et l’un des points qui nous rassemble est la recherche de la paix. Au cours de cette semaine à propos de la Bataille de Vimy, qui aborde la guerre, l’objectif est d’atteindre la paix. Le Canada se distingue en tant que nation de maintien de la paix. Je crois que les étudiants comprendront cela.
Edgar Veldman, enseignant-moniteur, Terrace, C-B

Les participants à la semaine Vimy ont également pris part à des ateliers d’art portant sur la guerre, la paix et le souvenir. Ils ont pu y exprimer leurs propres perspectives et leurs sentiments par le biais de médiums tels que l’animation, le travail du feutre et le slam.

Quel est l’un des poèmes les plus connus? « Au champ d’honneur ». Pour moi, la poésie cadre parfaitement avec le thème de cette semaine parce que les étudiants parlent à des anciens combattants, visitent des musées, etc. Ils vivent des émotions fortes et la poésie est parfaite pour prendre du recul et réfléchir.
- Nathanael Larochette, artiste slameur et animateur d’atelier, Ottawa, ON

Une autre activité stimulante fut un après-midi avec des anciens combattants, comme Peter Craske (Deuxième Guerre Mondiale), Walter Conrad (Guerre de Corée) et Bob Crane (ancien combattant indigène, Guerre froide et maintien de la paix) ainsi que des membres actifs des Forces comme la lt.-Col. Telah Morrison, le major Jean-Marc Mercier et la lt. Nathalie Pagé. Les discussions ont porté sur les expériences personnelles, le rôle des militaires dans l’histoire du Canada et combien les Canadiens sont toujours respectés en Europe à cause de leur rôle pendant les deux guerres mondiales :

Les enfants mettent toujours des fleurs sur les tombes des soldats canadiens et à Noël, ils mettent des chandelles sur chaque tombe. L’un des moments les plus émouvants de ma vie était lorsque j’ai visité la Hollande il y a quelques années. Une femme m’a amené son petit garçon et m’a demandé de serrer sa main. Ensuite elle a dit « je veux que mon fils ait pu serrer la main d’un de ceux qui nous ont libéré avant de mourir ».
Peter Craske, combattant de la Deuxième Guerre Mondiale.

https://youtu.be/fM7rHZBNZ9M