News

Back to list

February 23, 2018

VIDEO: Tech & Food at Encounters with Canada

This year, Encounters with Canada partnered with Farm Credit Canada, Canada’s largest agricultural term lender, to develop a new theme: Tech & Food. Offered in February, this new week explores future agriculture and food technology careers.

Participants discovered innovations in plant and agricultural science that will allow us to feed nine billion people by 2050. They participateed in hands-on workshops on biotechnology, soil analysis, the impact of agriculture on the environment and food ethics. They visited the Canada Agriculture and Food Museum, a dairy, a cheese factory, a rabbit farm, and experimental green houses, among others.

Participants also took part in Canada’s Agriculture Day in Ottawa, an event to showcase Canadian agricultural innovations and create a closer connection with consumers about where their food comes from and the people who produce it.

Find out more about EWC's Tech & Food and other theme weeks.

https://youtu.be/dluinWCS69Y

Nouvelles

Retour à la liste

23 février 2018

VIDEO: Tech et bouffe à Rencontres du Canada

Cette année, Rencontres du Canada c’est joint à Financement agricole Canada, le plus important prêteur à terme au Canada, pour mettre sur pieds une toute nouvelle semaine thématique : Tech et bouffe. Offerte en février, cette semaine se penche sur les carrières touchant l’agriculture de l’avenir et les technologies de l’alimentation.

Les participants ont eu la chance de découvrir les innovations scientifiques des plantes et de l’agriculture qui nous permettront de nourrir 9 milliards de personnes en 2050. Ils ont participé à des ateliers pratiques sur la biotechnologie, l’analyse des sols, l’impact de l’agriculture sur l’environnement et l’éthique de l’alimentation. Ils ont visité notamment le Musée de l’agriculture et de l’alimentation du Canada, une laiterie, une fromagerie, une ferme de lapins et des serres expérimentales.

Pour terminer, les jeunes ont pris part au Jour de l’agriculture canadienne qui se tiendra à Ottawa; une occasion de souligner les innovations du secteur agricole canadien et de conscientiser les consommateurs à propos de la provenance des aliments et des gens qui les produisent.

Découvrez la semaine Tech et bouffe et les autres thèmes de RDC.

https://youtu.be/dluinWCS69Y