News

Back to list

April 9, 2018

Encounters is now plastic bottle free!

In an effort to become more environmentally friendly, Encounters with Canada is moving away from disposable plastic bottles. Bottled water will no longer be sold in the Centre’s vending machines or Cantine, it will not be served during events or distributed to participants when they go on days trips.

This move follows a sustainable trend adopted by many institutions including a number of Canadian universities, colleges and schools. Plastic bottle production generates significant waste and consumes water and fossil fuels in the process of bottling and transportation. Only about 50 to 70 per cent of plastic water bottles in Canada are recycled, and what goes to landfills can take hundreds of years to decompose.

Tap water in Ottawa is of the highest quality - the city conducts more than 125,000 quality tests a year. We invite all EWC participants, monitors and guests to bring their own reusable bottle when they visit the Centre.

Nouvelles

Retour à la liste

9 avril 2018

Plus de bouteilles de plastique à RDC

Pour contribuer à protéger l’environnement, Rencontres du Canada devient une institution sans bouteilles de plastique jetables. Les bouteilles d’eau ne seront plus en vente dans les distributrices ou dans la boutique du Centre. Elles ne seront plus servies lors d’événements ni distribuées aux participants lors de leurs sorties.

Cette initiative suit une tendance adoptée de nombreuses institutions comprenant plusieurs universités, collèges et écoles au Canada. La production de bouteilles de plastique génère énormément de déchets et consomme beaucoup d’eau et d’énergies fossiles lors de l’embouteillage et du transport. Seulement 50 à 70% des bouteilles sont recyclées au Canada et celles qui finissent au dépotoir prennent jusqu’à 300 ans pour se décomposer.

L’eau de robinet d’Ottawa est de très bonne qualité – la ville procède à plus de 125 000 tests de qualité chaque année. Nous invitons les participants, les moniteurs et les invités de RDC à amener leur propre bouteille réutilisable lors de leur visite.