News

Back to list

April 24, 2017

Encounters with Canada Volunteers Awarded the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers

Ottawa, April 24, 2017 - This morning, the Governor General of Canada, his Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, awarded the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers to Michael White and John Shaw, two long-time Encounters with Canada (EWC) volunteers. Together, these two devoted former teachers have accumulated over 55 years of volunteering for the Ottawa-based youth citizenship and leadership program. Their unfaltering generosity and dedication is truly an incredible achievement.

I am blessed to have worked with such exceptional people as Michael and John. They have touched the lives of thousands of young Canadians over the years, which is truly remarkable. For years to come, they will serve as a model for the hundreds of volunteers who work with Encounters with Canada across the country. I wish to thank them and congratulate them both for this well-deserved award.
Linda Brunet, Director General, Encounters with Canada

Over a 20-year period, Michael White has donated 100 weeks – almost two years of his life – to EWC. Michael has dedicated his life to education and the youth of Canada – and to the betterment of his fellow man. A retired New Brunswick teacher since 2002, he began volunteering at Encounters with Canada in March 1996. He was teaching at Bathurst High School at the time. Yet, he donated several weeks each year of his free time to act as a teacher-monitor for the Encounters’ program.

John Shaw has selflessly dedicated his life to education and to the youth of Manitoba and Canada – and to the betterment of his fellow man. A retired teacher and current member of the Manitoba Department of Education, John began volunteering at EWC in 1982, the year the program started. Since then, he has been a committed, loyal and diligent volunteer for the past 35 years. Since the program opened its doors, John has been a steadfast supporter in every way – as a volunteer recruiter, teacher-monitor, Manitoba provincial volunteer president, and provincial regional coordinator. In fact, his belief in the program is so strong that he sent both his children as participants.

For 35 years, Encounters with Canada has been welcoming teens to the Terry Fox Canadian Youth Centre in the east-end of Ottawa. Over 107,000 youth from across the country have participated in this fully bilingual program to explore careers options, develop citizenship and leadership, and discover Canada’s cultural, historical and political institutions.

The Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers is awarded to Canadian citizens, who have made significant, sustained and unpaid contributions to their community, and who have demonstrated an exemplary commitment through their dedicated volunteerism.

Nouvelles

Retour à la liste

24 Avril 2017

Deux bénévoles de Rencontres du Canada reçoivent la Médaille du souverain pour les bénévoles

Ottawa, le 24 avril 2017 – Ce matin, le Gouverneur général du Canada, son Excellence le très honorable David Johnston, a remis la Médaille du souverain pour les bénévoles à Michael White et John Shaw, deux bénévoles de longue date à Rencontres du Canada (RDC). Ensemble, ces deux enseignants retraités ont cumulé plus de 55 années de bénévolat pour le programme de citoyenneté et leadership jeunesse ottavien. Leur générosité et dévouement indéfectibles représentent un véritable accomplissement.

"Je suis reconnaissante d’avoir pu travailler avec des personnes aussi exceptionnelles que Michael et John. Ils ont touché la vie de milliers de jeunes Canadiens au cours des ans, ce qui est vraiment remarquable. Pour les années à venir, ils seront un modèle pour les centaines de bénévoles qui travaillent avec Rencontres du Canada partout au pays. J’aimerais les remercier et les féliciter pour cette reconnaissance bien méritée."
- Linda Brunet, Directrice Générale, Rencontres du Canada

Pendant 20 ans, Michael White a donné plus de 100 semaines – presque 2 ans de sa vie – à RDC. Michael a voué sa vie à l’éducation et aux jeunes du Canada, et à l’amélioration du sort de ses concitoyens. Enseignant retraité du Nouveau-Brunswick depuis 2002, il s’est engagé auprès de RDC comme bénévole en mars 1996. Il enseignait à l’école secondaire de Bathurst à l’époque, mais il a néanmoins donné plusieurs semaines de son temps chaque année pour travailler comme enseignant-accompagnateur pour le programme de RDC.

John Shaw a dédié sa vie à l’éducation et aux jeunes du Manitoba et du Canada. Enseignant retraité siégeant actuellement au ministère de l’Éducation du Manitoba, John s’est engagé comme bénévole à RDE dès 1982, la première année du programme. Depuis, il a été un bénévole dévoué, loyal et appliqué pendant 35 ans. Depuis le lancement du programme, John a fourni un appui indéfectible – entant que recruteur bénévole, enseignant-accompagnateur, président provincial des bénévoles du Manitoba et coordonnateur régional. Son enthousiasme pour le programme est tel qu’il y a envoyé ses deux enfants comme participants.

Depuis 35 ans, Rencontres du Canada accueille des adolescents au Centre Terry Fox de la Jeunesse Canadienne dans l’est d’Ottawa. Plus de 107 000 jeunes de partout au pays ont participé à ce programme bilingue pour explorer des options de carrière, développer leur citoyenneté et leur leadership et découvrir les institutions culturelles, politiques et historiques du Canada.

La Médaille du souverain pour les bénévoles est décernée aux citoyens canadiens qui ont apporté une contribution importante, soutenue et non rémunérée à leur communauté et qui ont fait preuve d’un engagement exemplaire et de dévouement dans leurs activités bénévoles.