News

Back to list

March 23, 2016

Unbeatable volunteering record set this week

South Tetagouche, NB resident, retired teacher Michael White was honoured, today, for his 100 weeks of volunteerism at Canada’s largest youth forum, Encounters with Canada (EWC). Acadie-Bathurst MP Serge Cormier, Mr. White’s federal representative, was on hand at the Terry Fox Canadian Youth Centre to speak and deliver congratulatory messages from the Right Honourable Justin Trudeau and the Honourable Brian Gallant, Premier of New Brunswick.

Michael White has donated 100 weeks, 10,000 hours – almost two years of his life – to act as a teacher-monitor for the Ottawa-based, fully bilingual, youth citizenship and leadership program, Encounters with Canada (EWC), over a 20-year period. In so doing, he has set an unbeatable benchmark for Encounters’ network of some 1,000 volunteers across Canada that will never be matched!

“I think he is the first and only person in Canada to have accomplished such a feat,” said MP Serge Cormier. “He is a role model for all of us. His commitment to young people across Canada has encouraged them to come and share his enthusiasm, to become involved in Encounters with Canada.” And speaking from the heart to the participants present, Mr. Cormier continued: “And to all the young people out there, follow your dreams. Never forget that if you work hard and believe in yourselves, your dreams can become a reality. And I think Michael White is the perfect example of that, today.”

Said Michael White: “When you follow your heart, and with some luck, you will do what you love. I would not have been able to come here without the support of my wife and my three children. Indeed, one of the highlights for me was in September 2012, when my daughter became a teacher-monitor at Encounters, too. She says she now understands why I continue to return.”

Director General Linda Brunet added her good wishes: “One of the things that struck me, then, and still does to this day, is that the Encounters’ program has been able to attract and keep its volunteers from across Canada for such long periods of time. Michael White represents all that is best about the Encounters with Canada program and its teacher-monitors. He has touched the lives of literally thousands of young Canadians from across our nation. His record of volunteering is second to none. He is the epitome of an educator, youth leader – and caring Canadian.”

Nouvelles

Retour à la liste

23 Mars 2016

Un record incomparable de bénévolat a été établi cette semaine

Un professeur à la retraite de South Tetagouche, au N.-B., a été honoré aujourd’hui pour sa 100e semaine de bénévolat à Rencontres du Canada (RDC), le plus grand forum jeunesse du Canada. Présent au Centre Terry-Fox de la jeunesse canadienne pour l’occasion, le député d’Acadie-Bathurst et représentant fédéral de M. White, M. Serge Cormier, a livré un vibrant hommage ainsi que des messages de félicitations provenant du très honorable Justin Trudeau et de l’honorable Brian Gallant.

En 20 ans, M. Michael White a fait don de 100 semaines de son temps – 10 000 heures – soit près de deux années de sa vie, au programme jeunesse de citoyenneté et de leadership Rencontres du Canada (RDC), situé à Ottawa. Par la même occasion, il a placé la barre à un niveau incroyablement élevé, voire imbattable, pour les quelque 1 000 bénévoles de RDC provenant de partout au Canada.

« Je pense que M. White est le premier, et le seul Canadien à avoir accompli un tel exploit, a déclaré M. Serge Cormier. Il est un modèle pour chacun d’entre nous. Son engagement envers les jeunes à travers le Canada les a encouragés à venir partager son enthousiasme, à participer à Rencontres du Canada. » Ajoutant, du plus profond de son cœur, M. Cormier a poursuivi : « À tous les jeunes ici présents, suivez vos rêves. N’oubliez jamais que si vous travaillez fort et croyez en vous-mêmes, vos rêves peuvent devenir réalité. Et je pense que Michael White est l'exemple parfait de cela aujourd'hui. »

Michael White s’est ensuite exprimé en ces mots : « Lorsque vous écoutez votre cœur, avec un peu de chance, vous ferez ce que vous aimez. Je n’aurais pas pu venir ici sans le soutien de ma femme et de mes trois enfants. Et pour cause, l’un de mes moments marquants a eu lieu en septembre 2012, lorsque ma fille a vécu l’expérience en tant qu’enseignante-monitrice. Elle dit maintenant comprendre pourquoi je continue à revenir. »

La directrice générale, Linda Brunet, a clos l’événement en ces termes : « Ce qui me frappe encore aujourd’hui, c’est la capacité renouvelée qu'a Rencontres du Canada d'attirer et de retenir ses bénévoles partout au Canada pour de si longues périodes. Michael White représente le meilleur du programme Rencontres et de ses enseignants-moniteurs. Il a touché la vie de milliers de jeunes Canadiens provenant de partout au pays. Son record de bénévolat est inégalable. Il est l'incarnation même d'un éducateur, d’un leader de la jeunesse – et d’un Canadien bienveillant. »