Encounters with Canada first opened its doors to Canadian teens in 1982. Nothing in our nearly 38 year history has affected our participants, volunteers and staff more than the global crisis caused by COVID-19.

While Historica Canada’s commitment to delivering strong youth programming, and to connecting youth from across Canada remains as strong as ever, it is outweighed by the responsibility we feel for the health and safety of our participants, volunteers and team members. In light of this, and in the face of the uncertainties around COVID-19, Historica Canada has made the difficult choice to cancel the upcoming program year at Encounters with Canada.

We have come to understand through the COVID-19 crisis that there is no simple “return to normal”. The work to maintain the trust of our participants and their families is ongoing. While the program is on hiatus, assessments and planning will be underway for revamping the programming, and modifying the Historica Canada Centre in Ottawa to ensure that when the program resumes it is with a renewed vision, and in an environment that is increasingly focused on ensuring the health and wellbeing of our future participants.

At this time, we look forward to welcoming students back to the Historica Canada Centre in Ottawa next year, when we hope the global pandemic and all related concerns are resolved.

To be kept up to date on Encounters with Canada’s programming and reopening, please sign up for our newsletter.

Rencontres du Canada a pour la première fois ouvert ses portes aux adolescents canadiens en 1982. Durant nos 38 ans d’histoire, rien n’a affecté nos participants, bénévoles et employés plus que la crise mondiale causée par la COVID-19.

Bien que l’engagement de Historica Canada à fournir de la programmation jeunesse forte et à réunir les jeunes de partout au Canada demeure aussi puissant que jamais, il est dépassé par la responsabilité que nous ressentons envers la santé et la sécurité de nos participants, bénévoles et membres de l’équipe. Par conséquent, et à la lumière des incertitudes entourant la COVID-19, Historica Canada a fait le choix difficile d’annuler l’année de programmation à venir de Rencontres du Canada.

Nous en sommes venus à comprendre au travers de la crise de la COVID-19 qu’il n’existe pas de simple « retour à la normale ». Le travail à effectuer pour maintenir la confiance de nos participants et de leurs familles est continu. Alors que le programme est en pause, des évaluations et de la planification auront lieu afin de refaçonner la programmation et de modifier le Centre Historica Canada à Ottawa afin de s'assurer que lorsque le programme reprendra, il sera doté d’une vision renouvelée, et se déroulera dans un environnement de plus en plus axé sur la santé et le bien-être de nos futurs participants.

Pour l’instant, nous sommes impatients d’accueillir de nouveau les élèves au Centre Historica Canada à Ottawa l’an prochain lorsque, nous espérons, la pandémie mondiale et les problèmes reliés seront résolus.

Afin d’être tenus informés de la programmation et de la réouverture de Rencontres du Canada, veuillez S.V.P. vous inscrire à notre infolettre.